Mental Fatigue and Attention Restoration

As a contractor, my space is not usually my own. Not that most of my clients don't go out of their way to make me feel welcome in their offices - they do - it's just that I often play musical chairs, bumping from desk to desk as new folks are assigned permanent seats.

Like many technical writers, I'm particular about the ergonomics of my space. I tend to bring my own keyboard and mouse to work, and it can take a bit of adjustment to arrange the display and tweak the chair to give good support.

Reading this FastCo article, I'm reminded of the creative boost I get when I take a visual break; for a few moments, my mind wanders, making random connections to solve the problem in front of me. The best way to do that is to have something interesting/relaxing/nature-filled in front of me.

Most of us don't have the luxury of a window with a view. Adding a bit of greenery on your desk is an easy, effective way to enhance your productivity, raise your spirits and improve focus. Here's to a good new habit for 2014!